Ottoman–Mamluk War 1516–1517

[ 1516 - 1517 ]

The Ottoman–Mamluk War of 1516–1517 was the second major conflict between the Egypt-based Mamluk Sultanate and the Ottoman Empire, which led to the fall of the Mamluk Sultanate and the incorporation of the Levant, Egypt and the Arabian Peninsula as provinces of the Ottoman Empire. The war transformed the Ottoman Empire from a realm at the margins of the Islamic world, mainly located in Anatolia and the Balkans, to a huge empire encompassing the traditional lands of Islam, including the cities of Mecca, Cairo, Damascus and Aleppo. It continued to be ruled however from Constantinople.

Belligerents Initiation Date Termination Date
Turkey (Ottoman Empire) and Mamluk Sultanate (Cairo) 1516 1517 View

Related Conflicts

No Releted Conflicts