Russo-Polish War 1654–1667

[ 1654 - 1667 ]

The Russo-Polish War of 1654–1667, also called Thirteen Years' War, First Northern War, or the War for Ukraine, was a major conflict between Tsardom of Russia and the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. Between 1655 and 1660, the Second Northern War was also fought in the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, thus this period became known in Poland as "The Deluge". The Commonwealth initially suffered defeats, but regained its ground and won most of the battles. However its plundered economy was not able to fund the long conflict. Facing internal crisis and civil war, Poland was forced to sign a truce. The war ended with significant Russian territorial gains and marked the beginning of the rise of Russia as a great power in Eastern Europe.

Belligerents Initiation Date Termination Date
Tsardom of Russia and Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth 1654 1667 View
Cossack Hetmanate and Crimean Khanate 1654 1667 View
Weapon Name Weapon Class Weapon Class Type
Renault FT Vehicle Armoured Fighting Vehicle

Related Conflicts

No Releted Conflicts