Franco-Dutch War 1672-1678

[ 1672 - 1678 ]

The Franco-Dutch War (1672–78), often called simply the Dutch War (French: La Guerre de Hollande; Dutch: Hollandse Oorlog) was a war fought by France, Sweden, the Prince-Bishopric of Münster, the Archbishopric of Cologne and England against the Dutch Republic, which was later joined by the Austrian Habsburg lands, Brandenburg and Spain to form a quadruple alliance. The war ended with the Treaty of Nijmegen of 1678, which granted France control of the Franche-Comté and some cities in Flanders and Hainaut, all formerly controlled by Spain. The year 1672 in Dutch is often referred to as Het Rampjaar, meaning the year of disaster.

Belligerents Initiation Date Termination Date
Kingdom of France and Dutch Republic 1672 1678 View
Kingdom of England and Holy Roman Empire 1672 1678 View
Sweden and Spain 1672 1678 View
Prince-Bishopric of Munster and Denmark–Norway 1672 1678 View
Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Cologne and Margraviate of Brandenburg 1672 1678 View

Related Conflicts