War of the Second Coalition 1798–1802

[ 1798 - 1802 ]

The War of the Second Coalition (1798–1802) was the second war on revolutionary France by the conservative European monarchies, led by Britain, Austria and Russia, and including the Ottoman Empire, Portugal and Naples. Their goal was to contain republican France. They failed to overthrow the revolutionary regime and French territorial gains since 1793 were confirmed. The Allies formed a new alliance and attempted to roll back France's previous military conquests. The Coalition did very well in 1799, but Russia pulled out. Napoleon took charge in France in late 1799, and he and his generals defeated the Coalition. In the Treaty of Lunéville in 1801, France held all of its previous gains and obtained new lands in Tuscany, Italy, while Austria was granted Venetia and the Dalmatian coast. Britain and France signed the Treaty of Amiens in March 1802, bringing an interval of peace in Europe that lasted for 14 months. By May 1803 Britain and France were again at war and in 1805 Britain assembled the Third Coalition to resume the war against France.

Belligerents Initiation Date Termination Date
Archduchy of Austria and France 1798 1802 View
Holy Roman Empire and Spain 1798 1802 View
Kingdom of Great Britain and Polish Legions (Napoleonic period) 1798 1802 View
Russia (USSR) and Denmark–Norway 1798 1802 View
House of Bourbon and Batavian Republic 1798 1802 View
Portugal and Helvetic Republic 1798 1802 View
Kingdom of Naples and Cisalpine Republic 1798 1802 View
Malta and Roman Republic (18th century) 1798 1802 View
Turkey (Ottoman Empire) and France 1798 1802 View
Habsburg Monarchy and Spain 1798 1802 View