Argentine War of Independence 1810-1818

[ 1810 - 1818 ]

News of Napoleon's advance into Spain (see Peninsular War) and the deposing of the Spanish King Ferdinand VII (1784-1833) reached Buenos Aires in 1810 and triggered an insurrection. Spanish troops failed to suppress it. The Spanish viceroy was removed and replaced by a provisional junta, including Cornelio Saavedra (1760-1828), Mariano Moreno (1778-1811), Manuel Belgrano (1780-1820), and Bernardino Rivadavia (1780-1845), who set up the United Provinces of the Rio de la Plata on May 25, 1810. While feigning loyalty to the Spanish Crown, the junta exiled royal officials, eased trade regulations, and unsuccessfully invited allegiance from the provinces of the former Spanish viceroyalty (present-day Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Bolivia). Argentina effectively won its independence from Spain. Violent internal disagreements and clashes led to the replacement of the junta by a triumvirate in September 1811. On July 9, 1816, an Argentine congress met at Tucuman, declaring Argentine independence and adopting a constitution.

Belligerents Initiation Date Termination Date
Patriot (Spanish American Independence) and Royalist (Spanish American Independence) 1810 1818 View
United Provinces of the Rio de la Plata and Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata 1810 1818 View
Patria Nueva and Viceroyalty of Peru 1810 1818 View

Related Conflicts

No Releted Conflicts