Chilean War of Independence 1817-1818

[ 1817 - 1818 ]

[1817] Argentine and Chilean forces of almost 4,000, led by generals Jose de San Martin and Bernardo O'Higgins, crossed the Andes (January 1817), defeated Spanish and colonial forces at Chacabuco (February 12, 1817), and then took Santiago (February 15, 1817).

[1818] At Cancha-Rayada (March 16, 1818), Jose de San Martin's forces were defeated by Spanish and colonial forces; the revolutionary army won a decisive battle on the Maipo River (April 5, 1818), with minor revolutionary casualties; Spain's casualties were 1,000 and more than 2,000 captured; Spanish forces then retreated to Peru.

Related Conflicts

No Releted Conflicts