Second Turko-Montenegrin War 1861-1862

[ 1861 - 1862 ]

Disorder and rebellion after the death of Danilo II caused the Ottomans to dispatch a large expedition under Omar Pasha to Montenegro. Turkish forces invested Cetinje, Montenegro's historic capital, failed to subdue it fully but overran the small country. The Convention of Scutari (Shkoder) left affairs in status quo ante, except that Montenegro agreed not to build forts on its borders or to import arms. Montenegro did not receive its independence until 1878, when the Congress of Berlin permitted it to become autonomous.

Belligerents Initiation Date Termination Date
Turkey (Ottoman Empire) and Montenegro 1861 1862 View