Second Liberian Civil War 1999-2003

[ 1999 - 2003 ]

The Second Liberian Civil War began in 1999 when a rebel group backed by the government of neighbouring Guinea, the Liberians United for Reconciliation and Democracy (LURD), emerged in northern Liberia. In early 2003, a second rebel group, the Movement for Democracy in Liberia, emerged in the south, and by June–July 2003, Charles Taylor's government controlled only a third of the country.

The capital Monrovia was besieged by LURD, and that group's shelling of the city resulted in the deaths of many civilians. Thousands of people were displaced from their homes as a result of the conflict.

The Accra Comprehensive Peace Agreement was signed by the warring parties on August 18, 2003 marking the political end of the conflict and beginning of the country's transition to democracy under the National Transitional Government of Liberia which was led by interim President Gyude Bryant until the Liberian general election of 2005.

Belligerents Initiation Date Termination Date
Armed Forces of Liberia and Liberians United for Reconciliation and Democracy 1999 2003 View
Anti-Terrorist Unit (Liberia) and Movement for Democracy in Liberia 1999 2003 View

Related Conflicts

No Releted Conflicts