The Derg, Common Derg or Dergue is the short name of the Coordinating Committee of the Armed Forces, Police, and Territorial Army that ruled Ethiopia from 1974 to 1987. It took power following the ousting of Emperor Haile Selassie I. Soon after it was established, the committee was formally renamed the Provisional Military Administrative Council, but continued to be known popularly as "the Derg". In 1975, it embraced communism as an ideology; it remained in power until 1987. Between 1975 and 1987, the Derg executed and imprisoned tens of thousands of its opponents without trial.

In 1987 Mengistu Haile Mariam abolished the Derg, establishing the People's Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. After years of warfare by a coalition of ethnic-based parties, Mengistu was overthrown in 1991.

Formation Date 1974
Dissolution Date 1987
Territory 1221900.00 (Sq. Km)
Population 46706229
Conflict Name Initiation Year Termination Year Total Killed Total Casuality
Eritrean War of Independence 1961-1993 1974 1987 unknown unknown
Establishment Date Territory Area
1987 1221900.00
Date Military Personnel
Date Expenditure Exchange Rate Us Doller Equivalence
Date Population
1987 46706229