North Kosovo

North Kosovo also known as the Ibarski Kolašin is a region in the northern part of Kosovo, composed of four Serb-majority municipalities: North Mitrovica, Leposavić, Zvečan and Zubin Potok.

Prior to the 2013 Brussels Agreement, the region functioned independently from the institutions in Kosovo, as they refused to acknowledge and recognize the independence of Kosovo, declared in 2008.[1][2] The Government of Kosovo opposed any kind of parallel government for Serbs in this region.[3] However, the parallel structures were all abolished by the Brussels Agreement, signed between the governments of Kosovo and Serbia. Both governments agreed upon creating an Association of Serb municipalities. The association is expected to be officially formed in 2015. According to the agreement, its assembly will have no legislative authority and the judicial authorities will be integrated and operate within the Kosovo legal framework.

Formation Date 2008
Territory 1005.00 (Sq. Km)
Conflict Name Initiation Year Termination Year Total Killed Total Casuality
North Kosovo Crisis 2011-2013 2011 2013 4 238
Establishment Date Territory Area
2008 1005.00
Date Military Personnel
Date Expenditure Exchange Rate Us Doller Equivalence
Date Population