Wabanaki Confederacy

The Wabanaki Confederacy (Wabenaki, Wobanaki - translated roughly as 'People of the First Light' or 'People of the Dawnland') are a First Nations and Native American confederation of five principal Nations: the Mi'kmaq, Maliseet, Passamaquoddy, Abenaki and Penobscot.

Members of the Wabanaki Confederacy — the Wabanaki peoples — are located in, and named for, the area they call Wabanahkik ('Dawnland'), generally known to European settlers as Acadia. It is now most of Maine, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, plus some of Quebec south of the St. Lawrence River. The Western Abenaki are located in New Hampshire, Vermont, and into Massachusetts.

In its most recent official communications the confederacy has emphasized common cause, and acceptance of alliances, with environmental activists allied with its goal of protecting the land and waters, powers gained under the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples and related treaties major powers have signed.

Formation Date 1500
Conflict Name Initiation Year Termination Year Total Killed Total Casuality
French and Indian War 1754-1763 1754 1763 unknown unknown
King George's War 1744-1748 1744 1748 unknown unknown
Father Rale's War 1722-1725 1722 1725 unknown unknown
Queen Anne's War 1702-1713 1702 1713 unknown unknown
King William's War 1688-1697 1688 1697 unknown unknown