Beltrán-Leyva Cartel

The Beltrán-Leyva Cartel (Beltrán Leyva Organization or BLO) (Spanish: Cártel de los Beltrán Leyva or CBL) was a Mexican drug cartel and organized crime syndicate, headed by the five Beltrán Leyva brothers: Marcos Arturo, Carlos, Alfredo, Mario Alberto and Héctor. Founded originally as a branch of the Sinaloa Cartel, the Beltrán Leyva cartel was responsible for cocaine transportation and wholesaling, marijuana production and wholesaling, and heroin production and wholesaling. It controlled numerous drug trafficking corridors, and engaged in human smuggling, money laundering, extortion, kidnapping, murder and gun-running.

The Sinaloa Cartel, one of Mexico's most powerful drug cartels, had effectively infiltrated the ranks of various Mexican government agencies and even Mexico's Interpol. Its last known leader, Héctor Beltrán Leyva, was arrested in October 2014, having had a multi-million dollar bounty placed on him by the governments of both the United States and Mexico. On August 11 2011 the capture of one of the cartel's former top lieutenants, called "the last Beltran-Leyva link of any importance", prompted Mexican authorities to declare the cartel disbanded and extinct.

Formation Date 2000
Conflict Name Initiation Year Termination Year Total Killed Total Casuality
Mexican Drug War 2006 2006 ongoing unknown unknown