United Nations Mission in South Sudan (UNMISS)

The United Nations Mission in South Sudan (UNMISS) is the newest United Nations peacekeeping mission for the recently independent Republic of South Sudan, which became independent on 9 July 2011. UNMISS was established on 8 July 2011 by United Nations Security Council Resolution 1996 (2011). UNMISS is since 2014 headed by Special Representative of the Secretary-General Ellen Margrethe Løj who succeeded Hilde Frafjord Johnson. As of December 2013, it was composed of 5,884 civilian, 5,508 military, and 376 police personnel. It is headquartered in the South Sudanese capital Juba.

Formation Date 2011-7-9
Conflict Name Initiation Year Termination Year Total Killed Total Casuality
Ethnic violence in South Sudan 2011 – Present 2011 ongoing 4241 unknown